Spring Scholar-Athletes Announced

St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute is proud to announce the selection of twenty seniors as Section VI All-Western New York Scholar Athletes for the 2019 spring sports season. To be selected as a Section VI Spring Scholar-Athlete, a student must be a senior who has maintained a grade point average of 90 or above for the previous seven semesters, and be a starter or significant player in his or her sport.
Every program in the spring season is represented. Four St. Joe’s seniors were named scholar-athletes, while sixteen received honorable mention. Three of the four winners were named scholar-athletes during another season already this year.
Award Winners:
Rowing: Evan Benz of Lancaster (2X winner)
Track & Field: William Gross of Newfane (2X winner)
Baseball: Connor McKendry of Buffalo (2X winner)
Lacrosse: Evan Mulderig of Getzville
Honorable Mention:
Vincent Capolupo of Niagara Falls
Alex Depczynski of Cheektowaga
Jack Gilbert of Amherst
William Hearn of Wheatfield
Michael Merrell of Lancaster
Edward Klute of Amherst
Jack Rapini of Amherst
Ryan Rapini of Amherst
Michael Steimle of Amherst
Garrett Zito of Williamsville
John Arnold of East Amherst
Alexander Hartman of Lancaster
Michael Mayer of Pendleton
Track & Field:
Joshua Brill of Buffalo
Joseph Ferrantini of Buffalo
Will Ostrowski of Buffalo
Congratulations to each of these young men for their outstanding accomplishments, both academically and athletically.